Megan Hart will Touch your Soul

Okay, I’m busy working on a new book and eagerly awaiting word from editors on three of my other ones, but I decided to take a little time to highlight some of the authors I mentioned in my FAQ. I’ll try to remember to do this at least once a week, so depending on time, some articles may be bigger than others. I’m not a critic; these are just my thoughts on some of my favorite books. Enough with the preliminaries…

I tried to randomly choose an author/book to start. Thinking that was impersonal, I thought about what I would choose if someone were to force me to pick my absolute favorite book on my Kindle and only ever read it, but I think I’d just throw a fit and refuse because choosing just one book would mean that I’d miss out on the variety that different books by various authors provide. But instead of randomly choosing to start out, I thought about the book that most surprised me, and that was an easy choice. Hands down, I’d say Broken by Megan Hart.

When my husband went to the Sugar Bowl over New Year’s, which the Razorbacks lost to the Buckeyes so we won’t dwell on that, I did a search on Amazon for erotic romance, looking for an author I hadn’t read before. After sorting the results a few different times, I came across Broken and purchased it. I’m not going to summarize it because I don’t want to spoil anything, but I will say it was not what I expected. This was the first erotic novel I’d read that was just so much more. I was captivated from the first page, stayed up half the night because I refused to put it down, and got up early to finish it. Then I went to the beginning of the book and immediately read it again. It was that good.

From talking to my friends who don’t really understand the erotica genre, this book is an excellent example of how a book filled with sex could be so much more and just such a fulfilling read. I laughed. I cried (oh, how I cried!). I immersed myself in the book and felt connected to Sadie, even though I’d never gone through any similar experiences, which is a mark of a great storyteller. The book kept me guessing how Sadie would end up (it’s not a romantic suspense, but I was enthralled to the end). When I finished the epilogue, I wanted more.

If you want to try erotica but are unsure where to start, buy this book! I will say that most of the sex scenes do not physically occur between the hero and heroine, rather Sadie is living vicariously through stories, and that’s as much as I’m going to tell. The only reason I felt compelled to mention that is because some people prefer romance books wrapped up in a nice little package. This is not one of those books. If you want to read a book that is probably equally as emotional and a fantastic read with the sex scenes physically occurring between the main characters, read Megan Hart’s Dirty. It is probably my second favorite book by her, and might have been my favorite if I’d read it first.

Honestly, you can’t go wrong with any of her books. I haven’t read them all, but I’ve read bunches of them and am eagerly awaiting Virtue and Vice, the fourth book in her Order of Solace series. But Broken will have a special place in my heart as my favorite one from her.

You can access information on the book, like where to purchase it, from her website: http://www.meganhart.com/novels/erotic/broken/

