Lora Leigh has it in the Spades with Wild Card

After picking a book from my personal stash that most surprised me last week, I decided to pick one this week that caused me to read several books first just so I could read it.

Lora Leigh is a powerhouse when it comes to erotica. She cranks out book after book with new releases throughout the year. I own several…SEVERAL of her books. She is very talented at weaving a complex storyline in with an erotic romance, so when you read one of her books, you are getting a lot of substance. And a whole lotta sex! The sex scenes tend to be numerous and very detailed. She’s definitely not your momma’s romance book writer, so be prepared to feel the heat when you enjoy any of her books.

When it comes to a writer like Lora Leigh, it’s hard to pick out just one book to highlight. I’d already owned several of her books when I came across Wild Card on amazon.com. It’s actually the first in her Elite Ops series, but the hero and several other characters were introduced in the Tempting SEALs series. Since I felt like I was going to miss something, I bought the Tempting SEALs books and read them first. I was not disappointed! In fact, those books were so good that when I got ready to read Wild Card I was worried the bar had been set too high.

Boy, was I wrong! I was blown away by this book. I laughed. I cried. And I stay hooked until the very end, reading it in almost one setting! Here is the official blub from amazon.com:

It was supposed to be simple. All Navy SEAL Nathan Malone had to do was rescue three young girls from a Colombia drug cartel, then allow himself to be captured just long enough to draw out a government spy. That was before his mission went disastrously wrong…and before his wife, Bella, was told that Nathan was never coming home.

Bella’s mourned her husband’s death for three long years. But she has no idea he’s still alive. Forced to assume a new identity, the man Nathan was is now dead. If he can get back to his wife, can he keep the secret of who he really is…even as desire threatens to consume them? And as danger threatens to tear Bella from Nathan’s arms once more?

I am very glad I read the Tempting SEALs books first. Besides the fact that they were great stories, I felt Nathan’s pain in being in captivity, staying true to his wedding vows (The drug lord pumped him full of a sex drug he was making, trying to break his will and make him betray his wife) in the book Hidden Agendas from that series, and then the powerful emotions when facing his wife again for the first time in six years in this book—as Noah, a stranger to her. You’ll feel the heartbreaking pain of love denied and the anticipation of love rediscovered. You can definitely get away without having to read the Tempting SEALs books if you want to jump right into this book and read about Nathan/Noah and Bella. Just be aware that you’ll probably buy the rest of the books that follow this one in the Elite Ops series like I did.

Really, all I can say is whew! Be prepared to lose yourself in this book. If you are squeamish when it comes to reading a lot of sex, then this author may not be for you. But the sex is usually relevant to the story. You can read about this and other books by visiting the author’s website, http://www.loraleigh.com/

Enjoy!

