Novella Love Part I: “His to Reclaim” by Shelli Stevens

In honor of recent news that both my novellas have been accepted for publication, I’ve decided to spend the next couple of articles on two authors that I first got exposed to by reading shorter works. I already know which two I’m going to write about, so these are in no particular order. This week I’m writing about “His to Reclaim” by Shelli Stevens, and the convoluted way I stumbled across it.

“His to Reclaim” can be found in the book Sexy Beast VII. What could be better than an anthology that exposes readers to various authors of the same genre? When that book inspires you to buy more books, that’s what. Okay, I’ll admit it. The only reason I bought this book was because I was into the Wolf Tales series by Kate Douglas. Those of you who know about this already know she published novellas in the Sexy Beast books in between the releases of her Wolf Tales novels. I was late coming to that party, so by the time I’d discovered it, she’d released all but the last two books in her series. Yes, I went to the book store and bought the first two or three to see if I’d like it after reading an excerpt online. And yes, I went back to the book store and bought every one of the Wolf Tales and Sexy Beast books after reading those initial books. While I was in the middle of getting my Wolf Tales fill, I only read the Chanku books in the Sexy Beasts series. But a couple of months later, I figured what the hay? I’d read the other stories in those books, too.

Boy, was I glad I did! The Sexy Beast books were filled with some great stories, but “His to Reclaim” was one of my favorites.  The story grabbed you from the first page and kept you hooked through the end. It was both sexy and interesting, which can be difficult in erotica (I’ve read some books where I’ve skipped over the sex to get to the story and I’ve read others were I’ve skipped over the silly story to get to the sex). Shelli Stevens does an excellent job balancing both while creating a world with shape shifters that is believable. I liked this story so much that I read it two more times in the months following that first read (hmmm…I’m about due for another go!). Here’s the blub about the book from her website:

Five years ago Gemma gave her heart and soul to a fellow werejaguar only to have him disappear. Now Hunter has come back and kidnapped her on her wedding day in order to make her his again, and he will tempt, tease and taunt her body to the heights of hedonistic pleasure to get exactly what he wants…

Seriously, after reading this story, I went online and searched for this author, hoping she’d written a follow up book about Megan and Brad, minor characters in this story. No such luck, but I did buy several of her other books over the last year and have really enjoyed them. I especially liked her Seattle Steam and Holding out for a Hero series—in fact, I was tickled to see she’d come out with a four book about the cousin, so I bought that sucker tonight!

Shelli Stevens is one of my favorite authors, and it all started with an electrifying little novella, “His to Reclaim.”

Check out her website  to see her list of published books. www.shellistevens.com

 

 

1 Comment

  1. Wow, I’m so flattered!! Thank you!! I really wanted to write Brad and Megan’s book, but am not writing for Kensington anymore. However, I had so much fun with that world, I wrote a slightly different paranormal/shifters/government agency type of book (same idea) called Savage Hunger and will come out with Samhain next year! I hope to turn it into a series!

    And on your previous blog, Wild Card is my favorite Lora Leigh book!

    Congrats on the sale of your novellas!

Comments are closed.