Surrounded by Death is Alive – Sort of

So if you’ve been following me on Facebook (and if you’re not, then you should!), then you know I’ve been working on a short story on the Woods Family series. This short story, Surrounded by Death, is a prequel to the series and is about the deceased brother, Eric. I decided to write it after getting a lot of emails asking about him, but since his fate is already sealed, I didn’t feel right making his story a full length book (and I could have). Since this story is really my gift to you for reading the series, I plan on making this book free everywhere… for a little while at least. But that is easier said than done.

It is up on Smashwords for free right now, and will be distributed to Barnes and Noble, iBooks, Kobo, etc. as a free read in the coming weeks. But Amazon will not allow me to load a book for free on their site, so it is listed on Amazon right now for $0.99 (the lowest price they allow). I will have to wait until it goes live with their biggest competitor (Barnes and Noble) and request a price match to get it free there. What this means for you is you’ll have to wait to get it for free on Amazon when it goes live on B&N… and even then, that could take some time. My goal is to have it listed free everywhere by the time Book 3, Surrounded by Temptation, hits Amazon (around October 11, 2012).

I will be participating in a blog tour to promote Surrounded by Temptation for a month when it releases, so I plan on leaving the short story, Surrounded by Death, free during that time to help promote the series. After that, I might start the process to change the price back to $0.99, because frankly, it is already selling on Amazon at that price, and my momma didn’t raise no fool. 😉

So, yes, Surrounded by Death is now available, but with an asterisk.

Amazon’s link ($0.99): http://www.amazon.com/Surrounded-Death-Family-Prequel-ebook/dp/B0099GXQYS/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&qid=1347559181&sr=8-8&keywords=mandy+harbin

Smashwords link (free): https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/234606

I will update my website with all the buy links once it gets distributed everywhere. 🙂

