Breaking the Silence

It is with eyes wide open and a heavy heart that I have decided not to continue my Young Adult series, Season’s Change. For the last six months, I have been embroiled in chaos with the publisher of the first book in the series Season’s Change: Summer. I’m not going to rehash the ridiculous way the changing of the guard took place or the unprofessional manner in which business has continued. If you are curious, you can do a search on the publisher, Noble Romance, and get many blogs that detail others’ experiences, which mine mirror.

For me, writing is a passion, an outlet for my creative side, but publishing is a business. Therefore, after long nights, tears, wonderful friends and family, and meeting with my attorney, I’ve decided to make the business decision to put this series on hold indefinitely. Since the first book ends on a cliffhanger (and my royalty statements have been M.I.A. from the publisher), I’m going to ask that you not purchase Summer. It is within my right to continue this series with another publisher, but until I get my rights reverted on the first book or that original contract expires, I will have to continue dealing with this mess if I go forward with the series. No thank you.

Since Season’s Change is the only Young Adult series I’ve worked on to date, I’ve also made the decision to focus solely on adult romances. Branding is a major part of this business, so I’m taking this opportunity to narrow my focus. When I work on young adult stories again, they’ll be branded accordingly.

Besides the shoulders of my fellow authors—you know who you are—what has helped me get through the stress of this situation is the knowledge that this industry is always evolving. Stories can be modified, contracts do expire, and life goes on. I have many other projects in the pipeline with wonderful publishers that’ll keep me busy for quite a while. Projects I’m really excited about, but I do apologize to those of you who took the time to read the first book in this series. I know what it’s like to love a book and then find out the author couldn’t continue the series for one reason or another. It sucks big time, and I have an overwhelming urge to just finish the series where it’s at and keep getting screwed over by that publisher just so those who have read it can continue. But that wouldn’t be a smart decision, which is why it has taken me months to accept this new course.

I am looking forward to the future and am going full steam ahead with several other books. It’s not just the destination to enjoy, but the journey to get there. And I’m excited about this new journey.

1 Comment

Comments are closed.