Heartbreaker Blog Hop!!

Heartbreaker ButtonI’m excited to be playing with my fellow authors and publishing peeps on the Heartbreaker Blog Hop! What better way to spend a few days than jumping around, reading about loves and happy times than commiserating, er, celebrating with others?

Okay, so “commiserating” wasn’t a slip of the tongue. When I signed up for this hop, I had no idea that I’d be sharing this story…But yeah, something totally ironic happened to me the other day. This past weekend I told not one, but two people (ok several people… but on two separate occasions) about the first guy I ever (seriously) dated. God, I thought I was in wuv! He was tall, had blond hair and blue eyes. He definitely had some assets goin’ for him in more ways than one. 😉 But as with many other gals out there, that first one wasn’t meant to last forever. And oh boy, was I heartbroken over him. Well, technically, I broke up with him, but he pushed me to that point. The night I finally realized I was through with him was right after Christmas one year (many, many years ago). We were parking in a restricted area—hello! We were teenagers… but er, kids don’t do that—and when we got ready to leave, he backed up his truck and landed right in a pot hole. It was dark, we were in a hilly area, and here I am, after midnight, jumping up and down in the tail bed of his truck so he could get some traction and get out. Got the visual, yet? Well, I wasn’t any bigger than a minute, so that didn’t work. We went back and forth—each trying to jump on the tail bed. Finally, when I was jumping up and down, giving it hell, he hit the gas just right and dislodged us…only to get the back wheels stuck in another whole! Um, yeah, there was no way we were getting out that. Blondie got pissed and started stomping off, but not without barking an order at me to, “Come on!” It was dark, so I couldn’t see, but I was one irritated chick. I mean what guy does that? Just stomp off into the dark night, leaving his “girlfriend” to blindly follow behind?

And then the heavens shined down on me because the next thing I heard was a big splash. And then a litany of curses. Why, yes, Blondie stomped right into a big hole of water… up to his knees… with the boots he’d just gotten for Christmas. Gotta love Karma. And I was high-fiving Karma while we walked a couple of miles to the nearest gas station.

What’s really ironic is I hadn’t seen this guy in probably twelve years (which was a few years after we’d dated). And I was at the store the other day with my son. I looked to the side and a man was walking in. We both did double takes. But I couldn’t place him for a few seconds. And then I almost started laughing. Yeah, it was Blondie. Funny thing… I hadn’t talked about him or seen him in years and then I tell the story of our break up to two crowds of peeps and then I see him at the store. Thank god, I didn’t laugh… he’d probably think I was reminiscing about that night… which was the last night we’d ever gone out.

So there you have it…the first man who broke my heart. Comment below on your own stories and I’ll pick someone to get book 2 in my Woods Family Series, SURROUNDED BY PLEASURE. Because Book 1, SURROUNDED BY WOODS, is still FREE on Amazon (Go get it while you can!!).

http://www.amazon.com/Surrounded-Woods-Family-Book-ebook/dp/B005F6E7Z8/ref=sr_1_6?ie=UTF8&qid=1360356539&sr=8-6&keywords=mandy+harbin

And if you want to enter my contest for a chance to win $100, then visit my Facebook Fan page for the deets! http://www.facebook.com/Author.MandyHarbin/app_228910107186452

Don’t forget to hop on over to the other sites for links to other people participating for fun and prizes! http://carrieannbloghops.blogspot.com/p/heartbreaker-hop.html

Oh, and Happy Valentine’s Day!!

34 Comments

  1. I agree Karma is not a mistress to play around with.
    My ex who I haven’t seen since the night that I walked in on him cheating on me with someone who I thought was a friend…

    He walked into a store and saw me.. He kept on looking at me while he continued to walk right into a store display (make himself look like an idiot but also making a mess…) I am sorry for those who personally know me, I am one sarcastic person that …
    I walked over to him and said “you know that stopping and taking a picture would of have been a)safer and b)less messy” then I turned and walked away…
    BeckeyWhiteATgmailDOTcom

  2. I’ve been very lucky and have never had my heart broken! I’ve been married for over 30 years.

  3. My ex-husband – who had a well-paying job while I was only a substitute teacher – ended up in a trailer park after our divorce. I ended up in a house better than the one we had (with lower interest) and have since married a wonderful man. My ex, on the other hand, still lives in the trailer park! He occasionally delivers my mail!

  4. I am very lucky. Married for the last 26 years to my high school sweetheart.

  5. Thanks for the giveaway and participating in the hop!
    I think that Christian Grey from “50 Shades of Grey” is a good example of a heartbreaker. He used and abused Ana at first, but then came to his senses by book two.
    I know that’s not my story… but I’d rather not share.

    mestith@gmail.com

  6. For me the heartbreaker is a bad boy who goes kicking and screaming into love! When he falls he falls hard!

    The only heartbreakers I have encountered are literary! And my all time fav is Mr Darcy! Although, I am currently crushing on Zadist from the Black Dagger Brotherhood!

    grapeapril75(AT)gmail(DOT)com

  7. How can one chose just one fav hero?
    I´d have to say Trent Kalamack from Kim Harrison´s the Hollows, just because that´s the next book in my TBR list and i want him and Rachel to finally hook up =D
    Happy Saturday!
    //Linda
    fr_larsson at hotmail dot com

  8. I love reading about heartbreakers! They are usually bad-boys, they’re witty, funny and sexy and the female population is drooling after them lol

    verusbognar (at) gmail (dot) com

  9. thansk for sharing & Participating 🙂

    staceyprice(AT)gmail.com

  10. I ran into a guy who I had dated back when I was young earlier this year. I felt childish because I disappeared on him because an EX, well he was an ex but I was still married to the douche because I was underage when I was forced to get married the first time, and the douche threatened me he’d hurt the guy I was dating. Neither of them were small and in my early teens I used to LOVE to cause trouble. But I had begun to grow and see my wicked ways. So I vanished from both of their lives. I ran into the one I was dating right there with hubs and my kids. OMG! I felt like a teen again trying not to embarrass myself. He was assisting my hubs in getting our comp fixed!! Talking like they were good friends. Haha! Mortified me walked up to the counter because I was sitting with the kids to keep them out of trouble and reading my kindle to see if I could spot a name tag. NOPE! So I asked and he said his first name! Sure enough it was him! Unlike my old self I told my hubs of 12 yrs who he was b4 we ever got out the store! The next day with hubs knowing and watching the kids I ended up going out to dinner with my old date alone to catch up. And WHOA! I’m glad I disappeared back then. And hubs has herd me talk about this guy in the past and he still was “Go, I got the kids, Have fun, just not too much.” I truly believe hubs is my first love. He captured my heart and is the only guy I’ve never once run around on. Even tho I’ve been engaged three times and married once b4 him. LMAO! I was the heartbreaker until he came along and stole my heart.

    naughtybitsbookreviews@ yahoo dot com

  11. It was so long ago. I think he’s married now. Good riddance I say. He was such a liar!

    Mary
    mary_reiss @ hotmail.com

  12. Thanks for the great giveaway!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

  13. We all want to love a Heartbreaker. Maybe its because of his chiseled good looks, his bad boy attitude, or the mysterious nature of him. Some Heartbreakers are just that, they know what they got and how to use it to get what they want. Then there are those Heartbreakers that don’t even realize that they are doing it. The best part about a Heartbreaker is that there is always a woman that turns their world upside down until they realize it is love. I have read many Romance Novels over the years and have run into many memorable Heartbreakers and my favorites are usually the ones that don’t even know they are Heartbreakers! Some of my personal favorite Heartbreakers are :

    Kade Jamenson (Werewolf) from An Alpha’s Path. Kade is a sexy werewolf that will make you burn but a mishap with a potential mate makes him not think he will find love.

    Ian MacPhie (Vampire) from All I Want For Christmas is a Vampire. Ian is a heartbreaking Highland Vampire that was frozen in his immortality when he was only 15. With the help of his friend he is given a drug that helps him age to 28 so he could look like a man instead of a child after hundreds of years. He has no idea that he looks of a warrior and the lover.

    Lothaire Daciano (Vampire) from Lothaire. Lothaire is definitely a heartbreaker and his cocky attitude proves it! Thinks he’s a gift to women! Its just the sucker punch from a woman he doesn’t realize is his equal that brings him down a notch.

    Marius Parker from His Contrary Bride. Marius is every part the gentlemen but doesn’t realize he could also easily be the rogue!

    Benjamin Gateway from To Win His Wayward Wife. Benjamin doesn’t realize that he is a heartbreaker because the one woman he loved, he lost….or did he?

    Fury North (Human with Canine DNA) from Fury and Valiant North (Human with Feline DNA) from Valiant. Fury and Valiant are strong New Species and gorgeous to boot, but because they are damaged they doesn’t think they can hold onto to the women they love.

    Sigimor Cameron from Highland Conqueror. Sigimor is every bit the Highland Laird and warrior but can he hold onto to the beautiful English lady?

    Joshua Striker (Werewolf) from Alexandra’s Legacy. Joshua is a scared and battle hard enforcer for his pack and he thinks that he doesn’t have what it takes to make the women melt.

    angelheart618@gmail.com

  14. My favorite Heartbreaker is the one that your heart can’t live without. One of my best is Lucas from D B Reynolds book “LUCAS” (Vampire in America series). Strong mind, well put together and tender when he wants to be. And loves horses.

    Judy Peterson
    strawberryrose@earthlink.net

  15. I may not have much experience in the whole love department, but I have had my heart broken. Being considered a Heartbreaker can come from various actions that you do. I am a newbie when it comes to reading romance books but what I have learned is that it is not bad to have a chiseled body or an amazing personality. If you look at it over all, if you never put your heart out there, you may never have a chance at true love and happiness. I may get broken once in a while but only you are strong enough to pick yourself up and try all over again. One of my favorite Heartbreakers is Taylor Qualls the Earl of Sandlin from the book His Impetuous Debutante. Lady Phoebe kinda reminds me of myself, accident prone and finding trouble in every corner. Taylor doesn’t think he is good enough for Phoebe, so he’s a heartbreaker and doesn’t know it.

    ifightforlove36@gmail.com

  16. My first heartbreak involved being turned down by my crush in the third grade

  17. One of my favorites is Justice from Justice by Laurann Dohner. Thank you for the awesome hop and giveaway!!! 🙂
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  18. My favorite part of having a heart breaker is the world class groveling. Todd in Lauren Dane’s Laid Bare is my perfect example.
    planterofhope at aol dot com

  19. Thankfully, I have not had my heartbroken.

    susanmplatt AT hotmail DOT com

  20. My ex cheated on me with a girl who was on the Cheerleading squad with me… Karma got him good though because i married my hubby (best friend who picked up the peices of my 16 year old heart and put them back together) going on 14 years together 10 years married. Saw ex this past summer Karma got him good… No girl, loser job, and living with his mom.

    j.m.platt83@gmail.com

  21. I’ve had my heart broken a few times, unfortunately.

    AnnaM.
    doxisrcool at aol.com

  22. My personal heartbreak story is the story of my first love. I was 14 and he was 17. I thought he was the greatest thing ever…but he broke my heart and turned me down. Turned out he turned me down because he was gay, so he wasn’t a heartbreaker on purpose.
    Thanks for the great giveaway!! So many great prizes!! Happy Valentine’s Day!
    Ashley A
    ash_app(at)hotmail(dot)com

  23. Zsadist
    Thanks for participating.
    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

Comments are closed.